I HEART BOSTON

I HEART BOSTON

After hearing about the tragedy on Monday, I have to be honest and say I was shaken by the incredible heaviness of loss and the insanity of terrorism. That night, I saw a gruesome picture of one of the runner’s injuries on Facebook. I was glad it was followed by Mr. Rogers’ heavily circulated quote:

When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

This tragedy brings me back to September 11, 2001. During that time, I was a newlywed and finishing up my degree. I spent the week huddled in my chair, sobbing as I watched the news coverage of the towers and the aftermath. It makes me remember the Newtown massacre just a few months back and the fear of sending my own children back to school the next week. I was, and always will be amazed by the courage of all the “helpers.”

I love the hearts of men and women who see a need and fill it, no questions asked, because they know it’s the right thing to do. I’m not saying that this quality is limited to Americans, but because that’s been my primary experience, it does make me proud. It makes me love the people of New York and Newtown and Boston. All of the brave civil servants, rescue workers, first responders, police men and women, firefighters, doctors and nurses, clergymen and women, and everyday citizens that still believe in duty and freedom and America. They felt the fear and served anyway.

{Soapbox: Seriously terrorists…Boston??? You were looking for a fight and you got one. Some of our bravest and best moments as a nation were birthed out of that amazing harbor town. Americans will not lay down, even if the media would give that impression more recently, and we’ll always protect our own.}

So even though I wasn’t there and closely touched by the events on April 15, 2013, I offer up a cheer to Boston! Way to prove once again that America is absolutely a place filled with people to love and be proud of!

While the storm clouds gather far across the sea,
Let us swear allegiance to a land that’s free,
Let us all be grateful for a land so fair,
As we raise our voices in a solemn prayer.

God Bless America,
Land that I love.
Stand beside her, and guide her
Thru the night with a light from above.
From the mountains, to the prairies,
To the oceans, white with foam
God bless America, My home sweet home.

(Irving Berlin)

One thought on “I HEART BOSTON

Leave a Reply

