Baking Soda

Over the weekend, I attended one of the most beautiful weddings I’ve ever been to.  Gorgeous couple, gorgeous weather, gorgeous location.  During the refreshments between the ceremony and reception, I did get bit by ants on both feet.  I didn’t know it until after waking up Sunday morning.

photo 1

If you look carefully, you can see the actually bites, but both my feet are very red and swollen.  I  almost went right to Benadryl, but then realized I’d be a drowsy mess during the day with my kids. (It’s just how my body reacts.) I asked my good friend for a solution that was less chemically zonky.  She reminded me of baking soda.

photo 2

photo 3

I spent less than $2 and made a paste with it and water.  (I kind of eyeballed it, but it was like 2 parts baking soda to 1 part water.)  It definitely relieved the crazy itching.

As all this was going on, I was reading the info on the box.  Baking soda is sodium bicarbonate and it’s been a LONG time since AP Chemistry with Mrs. McInnis, so what did I do?  I googled it.  I found several medical sites and blogs with info, and they basically gave all the same info.  What’s cool is that baking soda is so inexpensive but has so many uses around the house, outdoors, with pets, personal hygiene, etc.  (Here’s an article that gives a good summary.)

Arm and Hammer’s site is also very informative and has a cool “Need a Solution?” search option that gives TONS of different uses for baking soda.

My box is currently sitting in my refrigerator  keeping my food fresh.

One thought on “Baking Soda

Leave a Reply

