Spring Went on Spring Break

March 20th was officially the first day of Spring.  I see the green grass, and the pear trees blossoming, and March Madness on TV.  Looks can be deceiving.  The temperatures for the first week of Spring have felt more like our typical Winter.  We’ve had highs in the 40’s, lows in the 20’s.  Today, I saw clouds, sun, rain, AND snow (for about 5 seconds.) Kind of confusing to say the least.  But, for various reasons, I’ve had a bunch of flowers around the house and it’s been delightful-a small touch of my favorite season.

I have not YET acquired a green thumb, so flowers in a vase that I only have to keep alive for a week and a half work just fine for me.  I can’t stay away from the cute little bundles of white tulips at the grocery store.  I bought the pansies (that survived a 27 degree night outside…oops) to add a little curb appeal.  They now live in my kitchen until the warmer weather this weekend.  The roses were a gift from my sweet husband and kiddos because I’ve been “under the weather.”

Having these friends around will do for now, but I can’t wait to have the warm air and gentle breezes of Spring back.

Leave a Reply

