Workin’ It Out!

Just Dance Workout

I’ll have to confess, I don’t work out on purpose.  The most cardio I get in is going up and down the stairs at home, sometimes carrying a child.  I have been blessed with a very high metabolism rate and, quite honestly, taken that for granted.  People probably hate me for that, but it’s my “secret.” I don’t need to lose weight, but I do need to develop healthier nutrition habits and tone up the old muscles.  I have friends that set an amazing example and are very disciplined in working out and staying healthy.  They have done so many workouts that I jokingly say that they now have separate categories for fun and not fun workouts.  I have to get with it and now is the time.

And this is why…

I am going to have to take some time to brag on my Husby. He has started on a weight loss journey with a goal of 80 lbs. lost by the end of 2013. He has so many things on his plate already: leading our family of 5, his full time non-profit career, and our part-time marketing and consulting business. He travels all over the U.S. for his job to speak/train programs who want to include children with special needs and disabilities. Needless to say, he has to purposefully carve out time to lose weight and stay on top of his goals. The program he’s working with, Body Key, makes it really streamlined. But because we don’t belong to a gym, he’s had to get really creative with workouts. Two things he’s used are the the Just Dance game we have for the Wii and also a Card Deck workout that some of our friends have used. I am so proud of him for staying active and keeping track of everything through the personalized Body Key website and a little gem called a Fitbit complete with app.

Card Deck Workout

I am also really trying to be a supportive wife on the home front. I don’t have a weight loss goal but I feel like I need to make some changes so he knows that home will be a safe place where he’s not going to have to face temptation. I definitely need to be more purposeful in planning healthier meals, but also give him time and space when he needs to get a workout in even if I’ve had a long day at home with the kids and really need a break.  I have also expanded my vocabulary and found the definition of “burpee” which I first though was a rude body function…

What are some other ways I can be supportive of Husby as he’s working toward this life-style change?

One thought on “Workin’ It Out!

  1. Good for you Becky, and way to go Aron! I think you’re doing a lot Becky by making sure he has time and space to exercise and making sure there aren’t temptations at home. You are both great parents and setting a great example to them of support for each other. Aron, you are one of the most determined people I’ve ever met and no doubt you will reach that goal!

Leave a Reply

