my Sweet Tart

my Sweet Tart

This is one of my most favorite pics of my youngest child whom is affectionately know as my Sweet Tart. Her daddy calls this her “stink face.” She’s like, “Mommy, I know I’m not really in charge, but I want you to think I am.” (Look at her…she’s totally about to smile.)

If you’ve ever read the Personality Plus books by Florence Littauer, you know about the different temperaments: choleric, sanguine, melancholy, and phlegmatic. (I would encourage you to read and take the temperament survey for yourself. It’s a great way to boost self-awareness, people skills, parenting, marriage, etc.)

Little Sweet Tart here is choleric with enough sanguine to take the edge off. She loves to be in control, she fights for position with her older siblings, she screams, she kicks, she says her piece, and she doesn’t stop moving until she falls asleep (sometimes after she’s had a good cry in the middle of the floor.) She is always so certain. In fact, I don’t know many more human beings that are as black and white as this little one.

On the other hand, she is very lovey. She wants to be close to me and be held. She still falls asleep in my arms when she lets me rock her. She won’t let her brother, or her sister, or her daddy leave in the morning until she gives them a big squeeze and a kiss. If they’re lucky, she’ll give them what we call a “cheek” – a big zerbert right on their face. She has an amazing sense of humor and has been cracking jokes-funny ones- more and more lately.

For this Phlegmatic/Melancholy mom, parenting Sweet Tart has been one of my biggest challenges to date. But one thing I’ve been able to get some perspective on is the fact that she has the makings of one of the best leaders, friends, workers, change-makers, world-shakers, wives, and mothers in history. Ever. Period. And I’m a huge part of that maturation (big word) process. NO PRESSURE right?!?! Good thing I’m not on my own here. I’m excited about seeing what God has in store for her as she grows, what plans He has for her. (As with my other two kiddos, I am already praying for her future husband. I hope he can be strong for her and give it back when she doles it out.)

Leave a Reply

